David Bowie, Enda Walsh & Ivo van Hove.
For more information click here.
Ellen ten Damme vocals
Thijs Cuppen piano
Arthur Lijten drums
Matthias Konrad trombone
Amsterdam String Collective
Jeff Taylor vocals & guitar
Henry Hey keyboards & vocals
Mark Schenk drums
Tini Thomsen baritone sax
Nigel Hitchcock alto sax
Tom Trapp guitar
Joost Kroon drums
Shapes of Time, 2018
Mark Haanstra, Oene van Geel
Composition: Mark Haanstra
Oene van Geel: viola
Mark Haanstra: bass guitar
Shift, 2019
Tini Thomsen Max Sax
Composition: Tini Thomsen
Nigel Hitchcock: alto sax
Tini Thomson: baritone sax
Tom Trapp: guitar
Mark Haanstra: bass guitar
Joost Kroon: drums

Some Frump Punk, 2008
Composition: Mark Haanstra

Frank Wingold: guitars
Mark Haanstra: bass guitar
Joost Lijbaart: drums
Oxymore Quintet, 2008
Oxymore Quintet
Composition: Mark Haanstra

Oene van Geel: violin
Guillaume Orti: alto sax
Harmen Fraanje: piano
Mark Haanstra: bass guitar
Chander Sardjoe: drums
Space Oddity (live)
White Tiger, 2010
Yuri Honing Wired Paradise
Composition: David Bowie
Arranged by Wired Paradise

Yuri Honing: tenor sax
Frank Möbus: guitar
Stef van Es: guitar
Mark Haanstra: bass guitar
Joost Lijbaart: drums
Brilliant Corners
No Black Tie, 2013
Barnicle Bill Trio
Composition: Thelonious Monk

Miguel Martinez: alto sax
Mark Haanstra: acoustic bass guitar
John Engels: drums
Mark Haanstra is a versatile bass player based in the Netherlands. He started playing classical piano at an early age but switched to bass in his teens after hearing the music of James Brown. Soon after he started his studies at the Conservatory of Amsterdam where he graduated cum laude in 1997.

His recognizable sound, groove and flexibility make him a much sought after musician by artists, ensembles and orchestras in many genres.
Mark won several prizes, including the Dutch Jazz Competition with the Nemesis Quartet (1994), Geel (1998) and Agog (2002).

Last 10 years Mark recorded and played in over 30 countries with artists such as Oene van Geel, Yuri Honing, Simon Phillips, Terry Bozzio, Napoleon Murphy Brock, Morgan Ågren & Mats Öberg, Theo Loevendie, Marcel Veenendaal, Windkracht 7, Ellen ten Damme, Tini Thomsen Max Sax (feat. Nigel Hitchcock) and the Barnicle Bill Trio (featuring saxophonist Miguel Martinez and drum legend John Engels).

Mark played with major classical ensembles and orchestras including Concertgebouw Orkest, MDR Sinfonieorchester, Asko Schoenberg, Nieuw Ensemble and many more. Besides this he is a soloist in Steve Mackey’s Grammy Award-winning work Dreamhouse, which has been performed and recorded by several renowned orchestras such as the BBC and New York Philharmonic.

Currently one of his main projects is his duo with viola player Oene van Geel: Their album ‘Shapes of Time’ got released in March 2018 and received rave reviews from the press. For season 2019/20 Mark is the bass player for David Bowie’s musical Lazarus. Through this production he met Henry Hey, who has worked with Bowie on this monumental work. Together with singer songwriter Jeff Taylor and drummer Marc Schenk they founded Test Propeller. September 2019 they will debut in some of Holland’s major venues.

Mark teaches bass and ensemble at the Prince Claus Conservatoire in Groningen and the Royal Conservatoire The Hague